Reviews

Lemonrock Reviews

The UK’s leading community and information centre for the live music scene

    I have followed Mice With Glasses for many years now and I can honestly say they are my most favourite local band. Nobody else quite tops how they get the crowd going every single time. A great mix of songs to get everyone going and not the usual cheese. These guys are genuinely nice people and their gigs are pure fun and upbeat. We have even booked them for our wedding! ūüėÄ Peter Cummings Sun 17th Feb 2019    For my first Gig of the year (excluding seeing the Mice With Glasses on New Year’s eve) I decided it had to be The Mice! As ever a great night! Playing all the great tunes! My Partner and I are pretty much the bands groupies! We like them so much they will be playing at our wedding next June!! Can’t wait to hear them again! A Happy Couple! Sun 17th Feb 2019    My first gig of 2019 and what a start! I admit that I may have seen Mice with Glasses once or twice before, but they continue to hit the mark on every occasion! 
The band were really tight and played a joyous mix of songs; Killers, Feeder, Stereophonics and the Clash to name a few, but also many more that are not on the ‘regular’ covers setlist. 
The Horn really suits their sound and the gig built up to a brilliant crescendo, only interrupted by the regulation short break half way through. 
This band creates a great atmosphere and can get any crowd dancing! I’m looking forward to the next gig already!  
Steve Tongue Mon 21st Jan 2019   ‘The great thing about MiceWithGlasses is that they are happy to tackle tunes most bands wouldn’t dare touch.

The Mice invaded the Black Horse with an unusual but highly enjoyable set list that would have surprised any music fan who had never seen them before.

There were no Johnny B. Goodes, Brown Eyed Girls or Summer Of 69’s to be heard here. Instead the Mice squeaked their way through songs like the opener, the Feeling’s I Love It When You Call; Green Day’s raucous American Idiot and the Kaiser Chiefs’ singalong Ruby.

The sound quality was truly excellent considering there are only three instrumentalists — guitarist Jerry, bass man Derek and drummer Paul.

But the Mice are blessed with a great vocalist in Graham, who can reach notes most singers wouldn’t attempt. His performances on the Nina Simone classic “Feelin’ Good”, Take That’s “Shine” and Coldplay’s “Yellow” were outstanding.

It was hard to believe too that the band were tackling Plan B’s “She Said” for the first time. They were even successful at the rapping part in the middle section.

Highlight of the evening was their terrific rendition of the recent Muse worldwide smash “Uprising”. Their spirited interpretation was simply stunning with just a lead, bass and drums.

I could have done without the Black Eyed Peas’ “I Gotta Feeling”, which kicked off the second half; and Michael Jackson’s “Billie Jean” but presumably the Mice hoped to get a few dancers.

Highspot of the second set was a fine performance of the 1991 James’ hit “Sit Down” which had the opposite effect on the Black Horse audience.

Bass player Derek (the only one with real glasses) made a more than competent job of Wheatus’ “Teenage Dirtbag” with Graham helping out on the high notes. The audience also loved “Monster” which came complete with set moves.

Other acts who were given the MiceWithGlasses treatment included Scouting For Girls, The Killers, The Darkness, Kings Of Leon and dear old Amy Winehouse.

MWG are well worth checking out — and it’s nice to see a band which makes an effort by providing nice lighting effects and even a glittery microphone. No wonder they are finding themselves in big demand’.
Colin Fenn, DJ, journalist, Wed 29th Sep 10   ‘Mice with Glasses are a genuinely interesting band. I’ll take all aspects of the night in turn:

1). Crowd – the only thing a band can’t influence! The crowd LOVED the band, with the dancefloor being packed from the start of the second half and beer/wine and sweat being sprayed in all directions. If a band is solely judged on audience reaction MWG really cracked it tonight.

2). Set list – a very good set with modern songs by the Kings of Leon and the Kaiser Chiefs. Either MWG are visionaries, or I missed the point of the set list, as often songs from the same band were only slightly separated from each other – this did feel a little weird.

3). Sound quality. There was some good gear here, but it could have benefited from some further tweaking to get a fuller sound going. I’m not sure if the band were under the thumb with noise constraints, but in future the drums need to come to the fore to give a more powerful sound.

Overall this was a gig I really enjoyed, I think MWG have a good thing going on and with more polish in the sound and possible development of the set list they could grow into a band you shouldn’t miss.

In terms of the venue, the pub was rammed – the huge car park swallowed all the cars up well and getting a drink was still easy. If it hadn’t been for the loose bowels of some of my fellow dancers, the atmosphere would have been perfect’!

‘Recommended’! Lemonrock, Sat 25th Apr 2009  

Public Reviews

Dropped into the Jungle Bar with friends recently and saw you guys play. Just to say we had a great time and stayed all night. Really enjoyed the set and are now following you on FB. Can you play Muse next time? Hope to see you soon. X

Amy Rees Posted Nov 19, 2019

I’m so glad MWG were able to play at my party in August. Another crowd pleasing gig full of songs we’d forgotten we love to dance to and sing to at the top of our voices. Thanks for making it a night to remember. See you at O’Neils in December.

Jo Pritchard Posted Nov 17, 2016

Thanks so much for playing at my 40th birthday party on 24th October. You guys were brilliant once again and I’ve had so much positive feedback about the band since. Can’t wait to come and see you again soon.

Jo Ross Posted Nov 09, 2015

Thanks guys, brilliant night, as always! Merry Xmas, thanks for the vodka! See you in the new year!B-)

Steve Tongue Posted Dec 28, 2014

Brilliant night at The Coach and Horses fantastic band so much energy, think I might be a groupie! Fantastic! Well done guys x

Nadia Grossi Posted Dec 28, 2014

Great gig Saturday night at O’Neils, me and my mates really enjoyed it xx

Teresa Strachan Posted Apr 06, 2014

Wow, thankyou so very much for an amazing gig, EVERYONE loved your energy and enthusiasm. It was the perfect way to tip us over the hill into our 40’s. My youngest woke up the next morning and said can we do air guitar again with my band. Thanks Donnna

Donna Whitney Posted Apr 05, 2014

Heard you guys play at O’Neill’s, St. Albans last night. Well done on a very varied, contemporary set. Makes a difference to hear a band with versatility – one of the better bands to play that venue. Look forward to hearing you play again.

Chris Greer Posted Jan 01, 2014

Just a quick note to thank you guys for playing at my party on Saturday night. I just wanted to pass on that I had several comments saying how good you were, so thanks again. I had a great night, look forward to seeing you again.

Jayne Posted Oct 03, 2013

Dear Jerry and Team, We would just like to thank you for your excellent performance on Saturday in Tilsworth, and for accomodating our requests. The stage looked fantastic with all of your gear on it, and so many poeple were telling us how good they thought you were. It really was a superb night, and you played a significant part of that. Cheers,Gifford and Helena.

Helena Box Posted Jun 30, 2013

Hi Jerry Lovely to meet you on Saturday and what a band, we were only going to stay for one drink but ended up staying you are wonderful and I had a really great time. I will defiantly be seeing you again.

Catherine from Hitchin Posted:

I loved you guys at O’Neil’s in St Albans, you really rocked the place. This was the most fun that I have had with my clothes on for a long time. We defiantly come to you next gig and this time there will be a crowd of us, Adele was the best song it was sic

Jane Clarke Posted Jul 07, 2012

Hi, lots of people are looking forward to your appearance at Caddington Sports & Social club on Friday 13th April – would love to hear you sing – Para – Para – Paradise oooooooooo

Debbie Old-Person Posted Mar 09, 2012

MWG played at our joint 50th birthday party in Charmouth on Saturday 3rd March 2012. Can those boys eat curry!!!! and popadoms!!!! Had a fantastic time and MWG were brilliant. Thanks again Lisa, John, April and Alec

Alec Aldworth Posted Mar 08, 2012

We saw you guys in Watford on Friday and had a great unexpected night. Having stopped for a quick drink, we stayed all night! Thanks for making our night, Sam xx

Samantha Hales Posted Nov 12, 2011

Just wanted to thank you for Saturday night. You guys rocked! All my friends thought it was amazing. I thought the lighting was great, it really made the atmosphere, the set list was fantastic too. It was probably the best party we have ever had here, and we have had some good ones! Well done, and we will no doubt catch up with you guys again soon.

Jane Jacobs Posted Jul 27, 2011

saw this fantastic band play in charmouth . they vey,very kindly let my son play drums with them for one song , it made his weekend ! didnt get chance to say thankyou properly, so a big thankyou to you all !

Tracy Brazier Posted Jun 03, 2011

Had a great time in Charmouth (music capital of the world!!!) on Sunday, great atmosphere, particularly when it went dark. Three hours of great music – you certainly earned your cheddar, guys!

Neil Harvey Posted Jun 03, 2011

just been at the gig at The Crown second time iv seen you play thought you were absoloutly brilliant ūüôā

Mathew Austerbury Posted Feb 13, 2011

You guys (MWG) are probably the ‘best band in the world’. What a great night @ O’Neills on Saturday. Any more gigs in Watford this year??

Ant Jones Posted Jan 16, 2011

Cheers, MWG, for another wicked night down The Bram, Luton (2nd Oct). Loved your newest cover of Plan B – She said. You guys are totally awesome!… Please, please, please do more gigs in Luton!. :oD x

Michaela (The Bram, Luton) Posted Oct 03, 2010

I saw the band at bishops storford social club on saturday 4th september and I was really impressed with the sound,the lights and the songs. The band had everyone dancing and clapping,which is a first for our club. I hope you are rebooked as your are the best band we have had here in years.

Alan Close Posted Sep 05, 2010

Totally Fantastic. A very good mix of artists & classic songs. Fantastic night!!

Carli Posted Jul 14, 2010

We just wanted to say what an amazing job you did on saturday. Everyone loved ya, I knew they would! Gonna get down the Crown to see you soon. Thanx again to all the band members, BRILLIANT NIGHT, see you very soon.

Carly & Billy Posted Jul 10, 2010

THIS BAND PLAYED AT THE PEAR AND ABSOLUTELY BLEW EVERYONE AWAY!! THE GROUP THEMSELVES HAVE BAGS OF ENERGY AND CHARISMA. THE MUSIC WAS SPOT ON AND THE LIGHT SHOW ADDED TO THE WHOLE SET UP. HIGHLY RECOMMEND SEEING THIS BAND. I WILL DEFINITELY BE RETURNING WHEN THEY PLAY HERE AGAIN. AS FOR THE PUB ITSELF..WELL SUITED FOR BANDS AND GREAT BAR STAFF. FULLMARKS ALL-ROUND”!!!!!

‘A Music Fan’¬†Posted Apr 16, 2010

fantastic, last weekend at caddington…

Rrobert Jackson Posted Apr 02, 2010

Many thanks for a top night down the Bram on Saturday! (27th Feb). Have only just discovered you, this was my first MWG gig and will definately be coming to see you again. You rocked it!. ;o) x

Michaela Posted Mar 02, 2010

Wow, you guys were good. Had the place rocking. (Crown, Aston End)Drummer’s hat is cool and original,must stay.Archangel really needs a tune to cut free on and rip it up.Thank you all for a great night.

Mr. Air guitar Posted Feb 14, 2010

Hey guys, your sound check was unbelievable! Most bands who play here go ‘testing, testing 1,2’ and you guys just pulled off an amazing Coldplay number! What a start !

Darren (The Bell -Ruislip) Posted Dec 06, 2009

WOW! I had never heard of the band until yesterday. Completely unexpected night out for us, and a great night. You rocked Luton !! Well done Guys.

Jon Stewart Posted May 31, 2009

The crowd LOVED the band, with the dancefloor being packed from the start of the second half and beer/wine and sweat being sprayed in all directions. If a band is solely judged on audience reaction MwG really cracked it tonight.

A Music Fan from the Crown Posted Apr 27, 2009